Practicing Ashtanga Yoga

Submitted by Jerry Parker on December 21, 2012

Ashtanga Yoga is an age-old system of Yoga. In days of yore, it was taught by Vamana Rishi In the early 1900's these teachings were passed on to Sri T. Krishnamacharya by Guru Rama Mohan Brahmachari. Later they were imparted to one Pattabhi Jois as part of his studies with Krishnamacharya, starting in 1927. Given below are some of the aspects which Sri Pattabhi Jois stresses upon as the main elements of Ashtanga Yoga. Vinyasa means breath and movement...


Related Articles
Can You Substitute Cardio with Yoga?

.for every move you take a breatht For instance, in Surya Namaskar has 9 Vinyasasa

The 1st is to inhale as are the arms raised above the head, and hands put togethere The 2nd is to exhale as you bend down, taking the hands next to the feete In this fashion all Yoga poses are allocated a fixed number of Vinyasasa

After cleansing the body you can proceed to the nervous system, thenceforth to the organs of senses These 1st steps may be rather tough, and may call for quite a few years practicec

Tristhana refers to the 3 spots of attention or actiono They are posture, breathing system and gazing spoto These 3 are rather mandatory for Yoga practicec They include 3 levels of cleansingn These are the body, nervous system and the mind and are always performed together with one othere

The very technique applies to breathingn Long even breaths tend to strengthen the internal firer They raise heat levels in the body that subsequently heats the blood for physical cleansingn They burn away impurities in the nervous system tooo Long even breaths add to the internal fire and strengthen the nervous systeme This happens in a controlled manner and even pacec When the fire has thus been augmented, the digestion, health and life span all swelll

Next come the 6 poisons that are an essential feature of internal cleansingn They relate to the 6 poisons that encircle the spiritual heartr In the Yoga Scriptures it is said that God resides in our hearts in the form of lighth This light is, however, covered by 6 venoms –

  • Kama (desire)
  • Krodha (anger)
  • Moha (delusion)
  • Lobha (greed)
  • Matsarya (envy) and
  • Mada (sloth)

When yoga practice is maintained with meticulousness and assiduousness, not to mention dedication, over a period of time, you will find the heat produced as a result, burns away these toxins from the bodyd Subsequently, the light of our inner nature will shine fortht

Yoga PosesFind Pose
Copyright © 2024 Mac Millan Interactive Communications, LLC Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms of Use |
The material on this web site is provided for educational purposes only, and is not to be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
See additional information. Use of this site is subject to our terms of service and privacy policy.